The Inspiring America logo.
News

NBCUniversal News Group to Launch Primetime Television Event 'Inspiring America'

NBCUniversal News Group to Launch Primetime Television Event 'Inspiring America'

NBCUniversal News Group will launch Inspiring America as a division-wide, multiplatform franchise that will kick off with an annual primetime television event honoring extraordinary individuals who have made an impact during an unusually challenging year.

Inspiring America: The 2021 Inspiration List will air across several television and streaming networks, beginning on Saturday, May 1 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC and Telemundo (Inspirando a América). Encores will be presented the following day on Sunday, May 2 on CNBC at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) and MSNBC at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT). The special will also stream on NBC News NOW on May 2 at 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT) and be available on Peacock on demand.

NBC Nightly News’ Lester Holt, along with TODAY’s Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb, will co-host the event recognizing the honorees on The 2021 Inspiration List and their remarkable stories. This year’s outstanding group includes Lin-Manuel Miranda, songwriter, actor and director, Bubba Wallace, NASCAR driver, Becky Hammon, Spurs assistant coach and the first woman to lead an NBA team as acting head coach, José Andrés, founder of World Central Kitchen, Claire Babineaux-Fontenot, CEO of Feeding America, along with many others making a positive difference in their communities, culture and country. 

Encompassing a diverse mix of extraordinary people, along with celebrities and newsmakers, the complete exclusive 2021 Inspiration List will be revealed during the week leading up to the primetime program.

“As we all begin to heal after an enormously challenging year, it’s important that we find ways to connect with and inspire one another. That is the very foundation of Inspiring America and why it has resonated as a popular signature series on Nightly News,” says NBCUniversal News Group Chairman Cesar Conde on the announcement.

He adds, “We need uplifting stories now more than ever, and we are uniquely positioned to elevate them into a major franchise reaching millions more across our unparalleled portfolio.”

This year marks the first installment of what will become an annual live in-person event, and will accompany forthcoming brand extensions under the new division-wide franchise. Anchors and journalists from across NBC News, Noticias Telemundo, MSNBC and CNBC, including José Díaz-Balart, Craig Melvin, Vicky Nguyen and Shepard Smith will join Holt, Guthrie and Kotb to interview honorees during the hour.

Throughout the week culminating with the program, NBCUniversal News Group’s flagship shows and platforms, as well as Noticias Telemundo, will focus on Inspiring America stories, most of which will be offered on a new digital destination on NBCNews.com. Inspiring America originated as a series on NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt five years ago.


© 2021 Comcast