Record 170 Commentators Join NBC Olympics’ Coverage of Rio

Stamford, CT

Bob Costas returns for his 12th Olympics, 11th as primetime host as he leads a record 170 NBC Olympics commentators. Coverage is presented across NBC, NBCSN, Bravo, CNBC, Golf Channel, MSNBC, USA Network, Telemundo, NBC Universo, the NBC Sports app, and NBCOlympics.com.

Bob Costas leads a record 170 NBC Olympics commentators (which includes those to be announced in the coming weeks) – the most ever for an Olympics – as NBCUniversal presents coverage of the Games of the XXXI Olympiad from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil across NBC, NBCSN, Bravo, CNBC, Golf Channel, MSNBC, USA Network, Telemundo, NBC Universo, the NBC Sports app, and NBCOlympics.com.

The Opening Ceremony of the 2016 Rio Olympics is one month from today – Friday, August 5 on NBC. Matt Lauer, co-anchor of TODAY, Meredith Vieira, special correspondent for TODAY, and Hoda Kotb, co-host of the fourth hour of TODAY, will host the Opening Ceremony.

More than 40 members of the team will be making their NBC Olympics debuts, led by Golf Channel’s David Feherty.

NBC Sports Group presents expanded coverage of the Rio Games, including golf returning to the Olympics for the first time since 1904. The overall talent lineup features the return of many of the network’s signature Olympic hosts, play-by-play commentators and analysts with Olympic experience.

NBC Olympics commentator notes:

  • The roster includes Olympians who have won a combined total of 59 Olympic medals (25 gold, 21 silver, and 13 bronze). Team NBC would have finished fifth in the London medal count ahead of Germany and behind Team USA, China, Russia and Great Britain.

  • Bob Costas, a 27-time Emmy Award winner, serves as NBC’s primetime host; Al Michaels will serve as a host during NBC’s daytime coverage on weekdays and weekends. Dan Patrick and Rebecca Lowe will work across both NBC and NBCSN. Liam McHugh and Carolyn Manno will handle NBCSN hosting duties. Ryan Seacrest will serve as host for NBC’s late night coverage.

  • Rio 2016 will be Matt Lauer’s 11th Olympics for TODAY, and his fifth in a role on the primetime Opening Ceremony broadcast. Meredith Vieira works her third Opening Ceremony for NBC. Hoda Kotb previously worked at multiple Olympics for NBC News including in Athens (2004), Torino (2006), Beijing (2008) and London (2012).

  • Among the Olympians on Team NBC: Four-time Trinidad and Tobago Olympic track and field medalist Ato Boldon, 2008 U.S. Olympic gymnastics gold medalist Nastia Liukin, two-time U.S. Olympic gymnastics medalist Tim Daggett, three-time U.S. Olympic swimming gold medalist Rowdy Gaines, two-time U.S. Olympic women’s soccer gold medalists Kate Markgraf and Aly Wagner, U.S. Olympic women’s soccer silver medalist Danielle Slaton, S. Olympic volleyball gold medalists Paul Sunderland and Chris Marlowe, two-time U.S. Olympic wrestling gold medalist John Smith, three-time U.S Olympic rowing medalist Mary Whipple, two-time U.S. Olympic basketball gold medalist Swin Cash, U.S. Olympic diving gold medalist Laura Wilkinson, U.S. Olympic beach volleyball gold medalist Dain Blanton, U.S. Olympic equestrian gold medalist Melanie Smith-Taylor, U.S. Olympic synchronized swimming gold medalist Heather Olson, eight-time U.S. Olympic short track speed skating medalist Apolo Ohno, 1998 U.S. Olympic figure skating gold medalist Tara Lipinski, two-time U.S. Olympic ice hockey medalist AJ Mleczko, and 2006 U.S. Olympic ice dance silver medalist Tanith White.

  • The 170 commentators will work coverage on NBCU platforms – NBC, NBCSN, Bravo, CNBC, Golf Channel, MSNBC, USA Network, the NBC Sports app, and NBCOlympics.com – the most in-depth coverage in Summer Olympics history. Telemundo and NBC Universo commentators will be announced in the coming weeks.

Click here to read the full release.